Saturday, February 29, 2020 Elyria 21°


November ballot nearly set following nonpartisan filing deadline


This story has been edited to correct the spelling of Oberlin council representative Kristin Peterson’s first name.

The ballot for November is nearly set.

The state deadline for filing nonpartisan petitions was Wednesday. Municipalities can move that deadline forward in their charter, but can’t extend any further.

“No other petition can be filled for the upcoming November election at this point,” Lorain County Board of Elections Director Paul Adams said.

The only remaining deadline is for write-in candidates, which Adams said some communities prohibit in their charters. In communities that allow write-in candidates, the deadline is Aug. 26.

In November, there will be six contested mayoral races in the county.

Incumbent Democrat Holly Brinda will run against independent challengers William Grace and Frank Whitfield. In Lorain, write-in candidate William Bobel recently filed to run against Democrat Jack Bradley and Republican Jessie Tower.

In North Ridgeville, City Council President and Republican Kevin Corcoran will run against Democrat Paul Wolanski. Avon Lake incumbent Mayor Greg Zilka will run against former Mayor Karl Zuber, while Sheffield Mayor John Hunter will run against Sheffield’s Council Pro Tem Carolyn White. In LaGrange, Incumbent Mayor Kim Strauss faces a challenge from Amy Schmitz.

Avon incumbent at-large Council members Brian Fischer and Tammy Holtzmeier and Council President Craig Witherspoon all are running for reelection, along with challenger Charley Peters. There are three at-large seats.

There are no contested City Council races in Avon Lake except for the open seat for the 3rd Ward. Eileen Campo was appointed to the seat in 2018, but will not be seeking to retain it. Gary Izo and Holly Kowalski will run for the position in November.

In Oberlin, 14 candidates will run for seven at-large Council seats. All of the seats in Oberlin are at-large. The incumbent candidates are Heather Adelman, Kristin Peterson, Ronnie Rimbert, Kelley Singleton and Linda Slocum. The challengers are David Ashenhurst, H. Scott Broadwell, Peter Comings, Ray English, Gladys MacIntosh, Elizabeth Meadows, Bill Miller, Mary Price and Steven Thompson. Council President Bryan Burgess was term-limited and cannot seek reelection and Council member Sharon Pearson also did not seek reelection.

No candidates have filed to run for fiscal officer in Brighton Township. Adams said only write-on candidates can now file for the position. Marilyn Siekeres, who was appointed to the position in January 2018, has not filed.

Five township trustee races are contested.

In Sheffield Township, incumbent Trustee Barbara Horton has not filed for re-election. Current Fiscal Officer Patricia Echko is running for the position against Timothy Mihalcik.

Incumbent Amherst Township Trustee David Urig is running against Jim McCann. Incumbent Brownhelm Township Trustee Donald Nieding is running against Gregory Abraham, Jason Hamman and Tom Rini.

In Carlisle Township, incumbent Trustee Jared Smith is running against James Zelenka, while incumbent Fiscal Officer Kimberly Fallon is running against Richard Willard for her current position.

In Elyria Township, incumbent Trustee Richard Hutman is being challenged by Laura Benko. In Grafton Township, incumbent Jean Haight has not filed for reelection; Michelle Tompkins and Andrew Weigel are competing for the seat.

In Penfield Township, Eric Flynn is running uncontested for trustee. Incumbent Lloyd Gordon is not running for re-election. Camden Township Fiscal Officer Connie Karney also is not running for re-election, and John Ciarrone is running uncontested for the position.

In Columbia Township, incumbent Fiscal Officer Jackie Ramsey is not running. Mandie Andrews, Bruce Doll and Rene Jacobucci all are seeking the job.

Lorain Schools has four candidates running for two board positions, including current Board of Education President Mark Ballard. Courtney Nazario, who recently was appointed to the board’s vacant position, is running as well. Kyriece Brooks and Charmaine Williams also are on the ballot.

Amherst Schools, Clearview Schools, Firelands Schools, Keystone Schools, Midview Schools and Wellington Schools will have contested elections as well for its board member positions.

Contact Sean McDonnell at (440) 329-7148 or
Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…