Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Elyria 62°

Diamond Report

All-Ohio baseball: Elyria Catholic's Leighton Banjoff, Firelands' Alex Brill and Vermilion's Ridge Clark make first-team in Division II


Division II was No. 1 for area baseball players.

Elyria Catholic and Vermilion won district titles, at least one area team was ranked in the state all season in the division and three players were named first-team All-Ohio selections by the Ohio High School Baseball Coaches Association.

Elyria Catholic shortstop Leighton Banjoff, Vermilion pitcher Ridge Clark and Firelands pitcher-outfielder Alex Brill, all seniors, picked up the honors. For Banjoff and Brill, it was the second consecutive year they were named first-team all-state, though Banjoff made it in Division III last season.

“We have so much talent in our area and we really pushed each other a lot, more than I thought we would coming into my freshman year,” said Brill, who hit .460 with four home runs and 21 RBIs this season. “It’s nice to know that I was able to be a good role model for our younger players and show them what they need to do to be successful.”

Brill was part of the first district championship team in Firelands history last year.

“I went out and played my hardest every game,” he said. “It’s an honor to be part of such an elite group.”

Second-team selections included Elyria Catholic’s Jack Laird and Brendan Holley, Keystone’s Nick Compton and Firelands senior Austin Urban. Vermilion’s Mason Montgomery was an honorable mention.

No area players were honored in any of the other divisions.

Banjoff, Lorain County’s Mr. Baseball, hit .470 with four home runs, 11 doubles and 14 RBIs.

“Coach (Bruce) Lisicky told me he nominated me for All-Ohio and when the honors came out and I saw it on Twitter that I made it, I was just super happy and super excited,” Banjoff said. “I was really excited to see my teammates get All-Ohio honors as well. It showed that it wasn’t all just one player on the Elyria Catholic team this year. Even though we had our ups and down, we all came together and performed as a team when it mattered most.

“I’m a little disappointed that I couldn’t help the team achieve our goal of making it to state and win a championship. Overall it’s been a great four years. I loved playing with all of my Elyria Catholic teammates and, honestly, I’m beyond humbled about all the awards and honors I’ve received.”

Clark had the most wins in the area, going 9-1. He also hit .381 with a home run, eight doubles and 20 RBIs. His last win came against Elyria Catholic in the regional semifinals.

“Honestly, I never thought about getting All-Ohio, I just went out and played baseball,” Clark said. “Of course, I wish we were still playing baseball right now but I can look back and say I’m really proud of what I accomplished this season and what we were able to accomplish as a team. We were really about to go out with a bang.

“I’m so thankful I was able to do it with this group of guys. Without them this would not have been possible.”

Contact Todd Shapiro at (440) 329-7135 or

Division I

First team

Pitcher: Evan Kemp, Mason; Yianni Skeriotis, Massillon Jackson; Jack Sokol, New Albany

Catcher: Mitchell Okuley, Olentangy Liberty; Trey Wright, Massillon Jackson

First base: Logan Zier, Springboro

Infield: Ryan Galanic, Cincinnati Moeller; Brennan Hunt, Ashland; Noah Laurent, Gahanna Lincoln; Tyler Pettorini, Wooster

Outfield: Morgan Colopy, Centerville; Jack Frank, Strongsville; Cole Harting, Mason; J.P. Sponseller, Mason

Utility: Casey Finck, Lancaster; Grayson Hamilton, Lakota East

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Yianni Skeriotis, Massillon Jackson

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dave Starling, New Albany

Second team

Pitcher: Austin Fawley, Springboro; Nick Hoffman, Centerville; Nate Stahl, Walsh Jesuit

Catcher: Jake D’Amico, Springboro; Braden Durham, Toledo St. Francis de Sales; Kory Klingenbeck, Cincinnati Elder

First base: Matthew Amison, Green

Infield: Jake Armsey, Walsh Jesuit; Luke Borer, Perrysburg; Anthony DiTomas, Mayfield; Cameron Martin, Uniontown Lake; Evan Sines, Lancaster

Outfield: Sebastian Alexander, Mayfield; Max Bowman, Gahanna Lincoln; Tyler Gambill, Kings; Devin Taylor, Cincinnati LaSalle

Utility: Jack Metzger, Olentangy Liberty

Division II

First team

Pitcher: Mack Anglin, Highland-Marengo; Gavin Bruni, Alliance; Ridge Clark, Vermilion; Kenton Egbert, Tippecanoe

Catcher: Wil Eads, Summit Country Day; Mason Sawyer, Columbus Bishop Hartley

First base: Kyle Jackson, Bowling Green

Infield: Jase Bowen, Toledo Central Catholic; Adam Fallon, Columbus Bishop Watterson; Avery Fisher, Ontario; Ben Vore, Lexington

Outfield: Jack Amendola, Chagrin Falls; Leighton Banjoff, Elyria Catholic; Phillip Cole, Columbus Bishop Hartley; Joseph Velazquez, Columbus DeSales

Utility: Alex Brill, Firelands

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jase Bowen, Toledo Central Catholic

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Barhorst, Chaminade-Julienne

Second team

Pitcher: Lawson Blackmore, Van Wert; Tucker Craft, Bowling Green; Ben DeMell, Gilmour Academy; Jack Laird, Elyria Catholic

Catcher: Clayton Criss, Steubenville; Evan Urich, Buckeye Valley

First base: Brendan Holley, Elyria Catholic

Infield: Lucas Rotello, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy; Nate Trainer, Athens; Austin Urban, Firelands; Cade Williams, Indian Valley

Outfield: Nick Compton, Keystone; Brady Emerson, John Glenn; Shane Jones, West Holmes; Adam Matras, Buckeye; Andrew Mckeal, Woodridge

Utility: Eric Fisk, Summit Country Day

AREA HONORABLE MENTION: Mason Montgomery, Vermilion

Division III

First team

Pitcher: Cade Brintlinger, West Jefferson; Jason Holly, Upper Sandusky; Rigo Ramos, Archbold; Andrew Russell, Champion

Catcher: Kaio Grubb, Tuslaw; Jared Kernen, Barnesville

First base: Seann McGill, Kirkland

Infield: Harry Jackson, Millbury Lake; Dylan Polen, Loudonville; Brock Stoner, Elgin; Jacob Wenning, Coldwater

Outfield: Caleb Gallwitz, East Knox; Connor Pack, Fairbanks; Anthony Sinicropi, Richmond Edison; Joey Torok, Kirtland

Utility: Cade Leach, East Knox

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Joey Torok, Kirtland

COACH OF THE YEAR: Dennis Woods, Villa Angela-St. Joseph

Second team

Pitcher: Jacob Boelkens, Millbury Lake; Jeremy Keim, Waynedale; Kyle Trickett, Villa Angela-St. Joseph

Catcher: Payton Ebbing, Cincinnati Country Day; Holden Galvan, Archbold; Matt Weaver, Waynedale

First base: Dylan Lambert, West Jefferson

Infield: Jarrett Varner, Waynedale; Mitchel Marksuie, Mogadore; Matt McGrath, Rootstown; Collin Gross, Crestwood; Clay Jacobs, Indian Lake; Mac Davis, Northeastern;Dante Tucci, Sandy Valley

Outfield: Matt Baemel, Westfall; Cory Erbskorn, Archbold; Spencer Giesige, Tinora; Kade Kern, Archbold; Kaden Smith, Ridgewood

Utility: Brenyn Marquart, Upper Sandusky

Division IV

First team

Pitcher: Logan Bell, Lisbon David Anderson; Owen Recker, Kalida; Tanner Schroeder, McComb; Isaiah Seidel, South Central

Catcher: Joey Knopp, East Canton; Andrew Smith, McComb

First base: Jack Heitbrink, Minster

Infield: Traeten Hamilton, Whiteoak; Nathan Karaffa, Toronto; Andrew Miller, Hiland; Jaden Youtsey, Lincolnview

Outfield: Jackson Goulter, Centerburg; Lucas Gulczynski, Toronto; Zach Harless, Whiteoak; Ryan Mollette, Newton; Fischer Nance, Newark Catholic

Utility: Garrett Goodwin, Hillsdale

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Nathan Karaffa, Toronto

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Wiss, Minster

Second team

Pitcher: Spencer Alig, New Brennen; Evan Brill, Whiteoak; Conner Hinnerman, Newark Catholic

Catcher: Casey Kalman, Hiland; Rickie Lacy, Seneca East

First base: Bryce Kennedy, Lehman Catholic

Infield: Mitch Neidenthal, Strasburg-Franklin; Dylan Piko, Fisher Catholic; Clay Cottle, Portsmouth Clay; Travis Milligan, Hopewell-Loudon; Kyle Wasson, McComb

Outfield: Brady Biglin, Buckeye Central; Noah Rossiter, Trimble; Zac Brickel, Hicksville; Jack Olberding, Minster

Utility: Gavin Carter, Lincolnview

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…